Monochromatic | Portraits

Black and White Portrait Photography has been a favourite of mine for longer than I can remember. When I had my first Photography lesson in grade 7, we built our own Pinhole camera and were taught how to develop film ourselves in a red room. Times have changed since then and yet even still I find myself in absolute awe each and every time I come face to face with beautiful monochrome portraits. No, the world isn’t black and white; it’s full of colour. But I believe that’s what draws someone’s eye to the differences.

I hopped in the studio a couple of times within the last few weeks and while I love portrait photography, I find myself involved with a more dramatic experience with it. There’s something powerful about a direct look at the camera, of course. But what I find even more so empowering at times, can be the “Looking Away” portion.

I love elaborating and working with unique takes on tones and stepping out of my comfort zone. A normal photo of someone posing can be fine, even looking at the camera. But establishing a portrait of posing and looking away on a black background offers more dramatic effect than normal.

Contrast is incredibly important to me as well. There’s nothing better than setting the stage with a serious photo that offers you a certain feeling. Not too blown out, not too faded, but just right in the middle.

It’s fun to show a dramatic edge – and it’s also important to change things up.

Change the background to develop a mood.

…And don’t forget. Not everything has to be serious all the time. Establishing personalities or adding a fun flair is always a great addition.

Leave a comment